Scot Pilgrim Vs The World

Well I went to see Edgar Wrights new film – Scot Pilgrim Vs The World this afternoon – the short thoughts? Its like being hit over the head with a large multi-coloured brick…

I must admit that when I first saw the trailers they didn’t appeal but then there was one trailer which when I watched me and the film clicked. The trailer was enough to inspire me to go and look up the graphic novel series that the film is based on – which I must admit I really really enjoyed and couldn’t recommend highly enough if you haven’t read them (and if you haven’t/want to I can lend you a couple!). So the film already had quite a bit to live up to already…

Now I’m afraid to say this – as it’s the cliche – but I would say that the books are better than the film… There’s just a bit more background information for each character and the story is spread over a longer period so, the series benefits in a way that the film loses out…

Then again the film was completely stunning – the fights against the 7 evil exs get bigger and more outlandish as the film goes on – with Wright really managing to capture an electric energy in the film which I would say infects the audience and it’s hard not to have a big grin on your face as you watch.

He cast are all fantastic – really matching the looks of the characters of the book to an amazing depth – even with random characters in the background are ones that can be recognised from the comic books.

Computer Graphics are used throughout the film to great effect to give a real comic book feel – from simple little messages appearing such as a knock when a door is knocked to more complex ideas such as shown in the battle of the bands really sharing the energy of the bands and their music.

The film really revels in it’s geekery from the 8-bit Universal logo at the start of the film – through the film with various game sound effects appearing throughout the film, and the computer game style intros that proceed each of the fights with the exs.

Overall I really enjoyed the film and would recommend going to see it – it is a big spectacle of a film and really carried with it an energy that I don’t think I’ve seen in a film in a long time…

Will stop rambling now! 😉

2 thoughts on “Scot Pilgrim Vs The World

  1. Pingback: And That Is The Week That Was… « Thoughts, Sights and Randomness.

Leave a Reply

