Toy Story 3

So I went with my sister last night to see Toy Story 3 for the second time. Unfortunately both times I’ve seen the film it’s seen in 3D, so I’m unable to provide a comment on whether 2D or 3D is better. I can however sit here and ramble on about the film for a bit – yes I’m conscious that this is rather late, but the first time I saw the film I didn’t have this blog up and running properly so it never got a review.

So Toy Story 3 – does it live up to the hype/greatness that has preceded it, not just with Toy Story and Toy Story 2, but pretty much all of Pixar’s wonderful catalogue. I’m pleased to answer yes this certainly hits all the marks – it made me laugh and cry, the story is gripping and the characters are likeable (or when it’s appropriate unlikeable). As usual this being a Pixar film it’s full of little visual references and in jokes especially with the nursery scenes providing a wealth of such opportunities.
The story of the film (as always with Pixar) was good, but takes the characters into a darker place than we’ve seen them before. The film is quite a few years after Toy Story 2, Andy, the toys owner, has grown up and is getting ready to go to University leaving the toys uncertain as to just what their fate is going to be – the attic for storage, donation to a local children’s nursery, or worse just being thrown out and abandoned. Naturally not everything goes to plan and the toys find themselves being lined up for donation to a local nursery, which on arrival appears to be a heavenly place where they will be looked after by children and played with again. However the nursery harbours dark secrets and half-way through the film it turns into a fantastic prison escape spoof.

As I stated before this film is a much darker piece than its predecessors. The themes of abandonment which are touched on in Toy Story 2 are picked up and expanded on here – with the toys feeling that they just aren’t wanted any more, and there’s a strong feeling of despair as the film tells its tale. To be completely honest, towards the end of the film it gets darker and darker, making it harder and harder to see how this could end in a happy manner. I must admit one scene towards the end of the film had me utterly terrified due to the nature of the situation and no obvious way out. I’d say a real strength of the film is that I felt this way both times that I saw the film – I was still utterly terrified during the second viewing despite knowing what happened.

It’s a fairly safe bet that Toy Story 3 is going to make my list of top films this year – every time I’ve seen it, it’s been a fulfilling experience and I really can’t recommend this film enough. Though you don’t have just have to believe me on this… The film was released towards the end of June and is still showing in UK cinemas – if you get the chance to see it, take it, you won’t regret your choice.

Leave a Reply

