Paul

I saw Paul a while ago but it’s only now that I’ve got round to writing a review of the film – I do apologise for my tardiness but I think it’s partially due to being unsure of what to actually write about it.  I did really enjoy the film when I saw it at the cinema – I thought it was very well made and it made me laugh, in fairness the film was a lot better than the trailers had made it appear it was going to be.  Still there were a couple of times when the film really didn’t work for me.

Detailling the adventures of two Brits going on a UFO hunting road-trip across the states, starting at Comic-con.  En-route they end up meeting a real alien who needs their help whilst the same time teaching them a bit more about how to live.  One of the characters the meet on their route is a Christian woman which leads to what could’ve been one of the more interesting parts of the film – where the Christian and the Alien discuss evolution and intelligent design, however this opportunity is passed up (from interviews it appears at Studio pressure) to make way for more common denominator swearing jokes etc.  Another thing that annoyed me with the film is that the effect Paul (the Alien) has on Ruth (the Christian) is to apparently make her lose her faith – but by the end of the film this seems to have been downgrading to shaking her faith which disappointed me as they seem to be taking a back step to appease the religious audience when I personally feel it would’ve been better to have stuck to their guns.

Apart from this I enjoyed the film – the film throws references at you in much the same way an episode of Spaced does – in particular a classic moment occurs when the characters arrive at a hick bar – though I don’t want to give too much of this away.  I think it should be noted that while Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are as usual fantastic in their roles (it probably helps the line between themselves and their characters appears to be slim), Jason Bateman, Bill Hader and Joe Lo Truglio are all fantastic as the FBI agents on the chase of Paul – how they managed to keep their faces straight for some of the deadpans they offer I don’t know – but it brings a whole lot of humour to film.

So overall it’s by no means a perfect film, and it’s not as good as Hot Fuzz or Shaun of the Dead either – still it’s better than other films I’ve seen this year and did make me laugh more than a few times.

Leave a Reply

