The London Marathon – Race Day Tracking Etc

It seems shocking and surprising but that time has come – in less than a week I’m going to be running the London Marathon…  If you’d fed up with hearing about that then I’d stop reading now as this post is focussed towards the people who are planning on coming up to watch and support through the run in London/want to keep track on what’s going on via the internet.

On The Course

I’m conscious of a few people planning on coming up to London on the big day to come and cheer on and have been trying to get a list of places which are supposed to be good for supporters to come and stand.  The Virgin London Marathon website (http://www.virginlondonmarathon.com/) has an interactive map which suggests a couple of good places for supporters to stand, and some places to avoid that can be seen here: http://www.virginlondonmarathon.com/interactive-map/.

The charity VICTA is going to have a couple of cheering points around the course as well as you can see in the map below – these should have a VICTA gazebo and a group of people wearing  the really stylish VICTA t-shirts and I’m sure they’ll be friendly and happy to see extra people.

My Mum’s colleague Sarah whose husband has run the marathon a couple of times has suggested the following as well (thanks Sarah!)

If you are going to go to the start on Blackheath make sure that you are not on the Green side when the runners go off.  You need to be on the side of Maze Hill Road (have a look on the map near the red start – it’s on the side of Greenwich Park).  If you walk down Maze Hill Road (takes about 10 minutes from memory) this will take you to mile 6 where you can see the runners.

I would then get on  Cutty Sark DHL and go over to Shadwell as you can see the runners at miles 13 and 22 from the same point.

Then it depends what you want to do but get back on at Shadwell either go straight to finish or stop along the embankment somewhere between 23 and 25 miles (Tower Hill -) 24 (Temple) – 24 to 25 or (Embankment) 25.

These are only suggestions and have a look on the interactive map to check these points.

As for people I’m expecting a range of faces Family – I think my parents and Zoe at least are going to up at various parts of the course, Uni people – Tom, Cliff, Dan & Ali should all be around on the day; Work people – I think Ju’s going to be around at some point – if don’t have contact details for any of these but want to meet up please let me know and will try and arrange a handover of contact details.

Tracking

Thanks to the miracles of Apple and modern technology I should hopefully be traceable around the course.  If you have an iPhone (and possibly iPad/iPod Touch) I will be viewable on the “Find My Friends” app – this is free from the App Store though I think you’ll need to add me on this – if you can’t find me for whatever reason drop me a message and will try and find you/get it sorted out.

If you don’t have access to an iPhone, but will have access to a computer then let me know – there’s a website you can use to keep an eye on my progress with an extra set of login details – I’m not going to post these here but if you want to use this method to track get in contact.

In previous years the organisers have provided a tracking service that monitors you as you go through the various gates of the course I’ve not seen any information about this happening this year – but if you can find something my running number is 49285.

At The End

Come the end of the course I want to try and meet up with as many people who’ve made the slog up to London as possible – however I really can’t say what kind of state I’m going to be in.  At the end of the course there’s supposed to be a meeting point at the Horsemans Parade but this looks like the kind of place that will get really busy and as there’s not showers at the course I may choose to run off and have one before seeing folks.  The best thing to do is to keep an eye on the Social Media bits below and keep in contact that way – I’m trying to arrange a spare phone so that I can contact people when it’s all done if my phone battery dies and will be ensuring I have the numbers for the people above written on a piece of paper so that I can make contact somehow!  Sorry to be a bit vague about this all – I wish I knew what it’s going to be like but I’ve never run a marathon before…

Social Media

There’s a couple of people who have very kindly volunteered to update Twitter/Facebook for me as I make my way around the course, every update that goes onto Twitter should also make its way to Facebook feel free to follow/add me – on Twitter I’m SorelJ (http://twitter.com/#!/sorelj) or on Facebook I’m here (https://www.facebook.com/alexanderjwalters).  I can’t tell you how regularly they’ll update and if I’m honest I’ll have my mind on other things, but will ask for them to keep you informed as much as possible should you be interested.

If I’ve forgotten anything/you want to know anything please let me know – I’ll keep this post updated so if I find any further information I’ll pop it up here and let you all know.

Thanks again for all the support that everyone has given for this it is all really really appreciated.  If you haven’t sponsored yet and want too (or want to sponsor some more 😉 then you can do this through the VirginMoneyGiving page found here (http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/alexanderjwalters) or by emailing AlexsMarathon@gmail.com so that we can get something sorted.

Thank you again and I promise I’ll stop banging on about this come next weekend 😉

Update:-

Turns out the Marathon does have a tracking site here: you’ll need my name or race number (49285) and I don’t know what information it’ll give as it’s not gone live yet it only starts at 7am on Sunday.

Also if you’re watching on the TV – here’s when/where it’ll be on over the various channels – don’t know if you’ll see me but may crop up in the background looking exhausted!

08:30 – 14:00 BBC1
14:00 – 15:00 Sky red button
17:00 – 18:00 BBC2 highlights

Leave a Reply

